How to upgrade or downgrade a service using WHMCS

269ac00f765508cb74b25d006dbf5bb2

Written by Dennis Nind

Last published at: February 8th, 2019

Admin Area

If you would like to change the product/service a client is assigned to and automatically charge or credit the difference for that change then you need to use the Upgrade/Downgrade process. You'll find the option for this next to the Products/Services dropdown menu on the Products/Services Details page within the clients profile. To use it, simply navigate to the product you want to change, click the Upgrade/Downgrade link, and in the popup that appears make the new product & billing cycle selections as required and it will give you a preview of what the charge will be for the remainder of the current cycle and allow you to create an order/invoice for that change if happy.

Watch Video Tutorial

There will no immediate changes to the product after creating an upgrade order, the actual product or config option changes won't take effect until the invoice is paid. But as soon as the invoice is paid the product will be updated, the new recurring amount will be set, and with most supported control panels the upgrade is fully automated with the new package details/changes being passed over to the server module being used. Finally the upgrade email specified in the product configuration is sent to the user advising them of the new products details. The same process can also be used for configurable options changes and billing the difference for those if the product contains them.

Client Side

Clients can also place orders for upgrades & downgrades themselves if you have permitted it in the product configuration. This allows clients to order upgrades/downgrades and complete them automatically without the need for any staff involvement. For more information, including how to allow clients upgrades and how the upgrade charges are calculated, please refer to the Automated Upgrades and Downgrades section

Manual Upgrades

There may be occasion when you wish to make an upgrade without placing an upgrade order (such as a free upgrade) or processing the upgrade before the client has paid for it. To achieve this:

  1. Navigate to the client's Products/Services tab,
  2. Change the product from the dropdown menu,
  3. Tick "Auto Recalculate on Save" checkbox,
  4. Click Save Changes,
  5. Finally click the "Change Package " Module Command button to make the change on the server.