The Profile tab is accessed via the Clients > View/Search Clients page, select a client, then click the tab marked "Profile". It contains fields for changing the client's contact details (name, address, email address etc.) as well as a number of other options affecting the behaviour of their account in WHMCS.
Name, Address, Email AddressA number of fields on this page should be self-explanatory, such as Name, Address, Email Address, Phone Number etc.... They display the client's current details. The values can be changed, and upon clicking Save Changes their record will be updated.
PasswordClicking this link will instantly generate a new client area password for the client and email it to them. Clients can also request a password reset themselves by clicking the the Forgotten Password link on the login form to begin the reset process:
- After entering their email address, if a security question answer is specified they will be prompted to provide the answer, then an email is sent containing a confirmation link to ensure they are actually the one who requested the reset. The reset link is valid for 2 hours from the time of request
- If no security question answer is set, the email will be sent immediately upon entering a valid email address.
- When they click the link in the email, clients will be taken to the password reset validation page where a new password can be specified. They can then login immediately using the new password. If the client didn't request the reset they are advised to simply ignore the email and not click the link.
Billing PreferencesThere are a number of billing related settings that can be set on a per client basis. These are set from the Client Profile tab also. The options consist of the following:
Late FeesTicking this box will prevent any late fees being applied to invoices that become overdue for this client
Overdue NoticesThere are situations where you may want to disable overdue email notices for certain clients. You can do this in WHMCS from the client profile tab by ticking the "Don't Send Overdue Emails" checkbox. The Invoice Payment Reminder prior to the due date will still send, but this will suppress the First, Second & Third Overdue Invoice Notice email messages.
Tax ExemptTicking this box will stop any tax rules from being applied to invoices generated for this client
Separate InvoicesEnabling this option will mean that items due on the same date and via the same payment method will not be automatically grouped together into a single invoice as would normally happen. You might use this for example with resellers where they won't always want to renew every product they have.
Disable CC ProcessingEnabling this option will prevent invoices for this client due via a merchant gateway from being automatically attempted for capture - leaving the client to login and make payment manually for all invoices even with a credit card stored on file
Payment MethodThis option can be used to perform a client wide update to all products/services, addons, domains & unpaid invoices of the default payment method that they are set to both now and in the future.
Billing ContactA billing contact is used where the name/address an invoice should be sent to differs from the main account and/or the name/address of the card holder that will be paying the invoice is different (if using a merchant gateway). A billing contact is first created via the Contacts tab, then it can be selected from this dropdown menu.
Client CurrencyA client's currency is fixed when they place their first order, all subsequent orders will use that same currency. As a result clients will not see the currency selector on their order form. Once a client has placed an order - and therefore generated invoices, services and transactions - we recommend against changing their currency in the admin area. The currency dropdown on the client's Profile tab will change the currency symbol, it will not automatically convert any prices, invoices or transactions into the appropriate amount in the new currency.
Client GroupIf client groups have been configured on the Setup > Client Groups page, this dropdown menu can be used to assign this client to a group or change/remove their group assignment.
Changing a Clients StatusRather than deleting a user you would normally just change the users status for record keeping purposes. To do this, go to the Profile tab of the client you wish to change and then select the status you want in the dropdown box. Then click the Save Changes button to save the new status.
- Active - Can login and has active or suspended services
- Inactive - Can login but has no active services currently, removed from client dropdown menus
- Closed - No active services and cannot login to the client area, removed from client dropdown menus